ADHD in Adulthood: To Prepare for a New Baby, I Had to Prepare My Mental Health

Standard
ADHD in Adulthood: To Prepare for a New Baby, I Had to Prepare My Mental Health

IT TAKES A LOT OF PATIENCE

TIME

This fall I’m expecting the birth of my second child, a daughter. Over the past months she’s grown from the size of a kumquat, to the size of a banana, and recently achieved the esteemed gradation of cabbage. From what I can tell the final step is cantaloupe—and then, having triumphed through the full prenatal catalog of produce, Sylvia Denevi, the newest member of our family, will be here.

For now the focus is on preparation. My wife and I live in a suburb of Washington, D.C., with our seven-year-old son, Jack. Together we’ve begun to make the expected adjustments. The guest room is now a nursery. The garage has been searched and reorganized, its assortment of baby gear emerging again like relics from a previous life.

I see my preparation for Sylvia’s arrival as love: the first opportunity I have to tell her I love her, that she’s precious…

View original post 1,348 more words

About michelleshenhouse

I AM A MOTHER OF 3, GRANDMOTHER OF 3, AND A VERY INDEPENDENT, INTELLIGENT, WELL TRAVELED 40 YEAR OLD WOMAN WHO WANTS TO BE ABLE TO SHARE MY WORLD WITH OTHERS. I WANT TO BE ABLE TO SHARE THE STRUGGLE OF BEING A SINGLE MOTHER, GOING FROM 306 POUNDS TO MY GOAL WEIGHT OF 145, AND THE JOURNEY OF THE NEXT CHAPTER OF MY LIFE.

Leave a Reply

