When I Was A Boy In Belfast

Standard
When I Was A Boy In Belfast

The Irish Atheist

belfast_aerial Many of my posts are responsive. I hear about an event or incident or encounter an argument and I respond on my blog with my thoughts. This is not one of those posts.

This post is a love letter to my favourite city in the world, Belfast.

Sometimes it’s easy to talk about Belfast. And sometimes it’s very hard. There’s much about the city to love. My mother’s family calls Belfast and the surrounding suburbs and villages home, and as a child I would spend days, weeks, sometimes a month or more there at a time. Travelling between my home in the Republic of Ireland and my family’s home in Northern Ireland presented challenges of its own, but I always loved Belfast. I loved the perfume of salt and briny sea mingled with the steel and oil of the Harland and Wolff shipyards. Coloured boats dotting the sea, people yelling…

View original post 1,764 more words

About michelleshenhouse

I AM A MOTHER OF 3, GRANDMOTHER OF 3, AND A VERY INDEPENDENT, INTELLIGENT, WELL TRAVELED 40 YEAR OLD WOMAN WHO WANTS TO BE ABLE TO SHARE MY WORLD WITH OTHERS. I WANT TO BE ABLE TO SHARE THE STRUGGLE OF BEING A SINGLE MOTHER, GOING FROM 306 POUNDS TO MY GOAL WEIGHT OF 145, AND THE JOURNEY OF THE NEXT CHAPTER OF MY LIFE.

Leave a Reply

